Falconry Forum (IFF)

Go Back   Falconry Forum (IFF) > INTRODUCTIONS & FORUM GUIDANCE > New to the Forum?

Closed Thread

Old 02-04-2013, 04:40 PM
Brancher

Smile Hi guys I'm new to Falconry total novice.

Hi people just thought I would join the website to learn more about falconry and to get the right information from experienced people, so anyway I haven't got a bird at this moment in time but I phoned a man today off bird trader and I might be picking a female harris hawk chick up in like 3 or 4 weeks the chick will be around ten days old so just wondering what you thought are on me imprinting her? Cheers appreciate all information. Mike
Old 02-04-2013, 05:04 PM
Brancher

Default Re: Hi guys I'm new to falconry total novice.

If you are inexperienced I would avoid an imprint, there is just too much to go wrong. In fact I would put the brakes on, if you get a bird before you get the knowledge you will need, a mentor, plenty of land to hunt on, a suitable enclosure and telemetry, you will end up with a disaster. And you run the risk of bringing this fine sport to disrepute. Mx.
Old 02-04-2013, 05:04 PM
Trevor Oertel
Passage

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyv View Post
Hi people just thought I would join the website to learn more about falconry and to get the right information from experienced people, so anyway I haven't got a bird at this moment in time but I phoned a man today off bird trader and I might be picking a female harris hawk chick up in like 3 or 4 weeks the chick will be around ten days old so just wondering what you thought are on me imprinting her? Cheers appreciate all information. Mike
Hi Mike

Welcome to the IFF.

To save yourself a whole host of headaches please take the time to read the pdf file by clicking on the link at the bottom left hand corner of this post "IFF Starter Pack" and then lets talk again.

Regards
Trevor
Old 02-04-2013, 05:13 PM
Brancher